Quantcast
Mobile Site You Might Be a Runner If... Gifts for Runners Login Run-Time (formerly User Options) Client Support Center
Work Hard. Play Harder.
Forum Links
Map Menu
Select a State
Other Options
Recent Posts
Help
About
Link to Forum Pages

Forum: Anything Else - Running Related
Return to Forum: Anything Else - Running Related
Topic: Joining the 21st Century - GPS
1 to 1 of 1
Format For Printing
Posted By: Webmaster Mary Posted: Apr 12, 2011 Reply
I have been running for 11 years. Though I am completely fixated on my running watch, until a few weeks ago, I never used a GPS.

I am a numbers junkie.  I am obsessed with knowing my overall distance, and pace.  Back in the olden days (early to mid 2000s), I would diligently measure my home courses with a bike, but that wasn't accurate enough, so I got one of those wheel things.  I told you I was obsessed.

In recent years, I started mapping my routes on www.runstoppable.com, or other online mapping tools.  I compared these numbers to my known measured routes, and decided they were pretty accurate.  OK, they were generally within 0.01 miles, and I decided that was close enough.

I had heard that GPSs for runners were only accurate within about 5%.  Sorry, not good enough.  Occasionally, I'd go for a long run on a new course, with friends who had a GPS, and would rely on them to give me the total distance.  Surprisingly, I was able to do this without having to breathe into a paper bag.

On March 10, training partner Dennis had double hernia surgery.  Before his surgery, he lent me his new Garmin Forerunnner with the request of: "Will you figure this thing out and show me how to use it?"

Dennis is good at a lot of things.  Technology and computers are NOT on that list. He had been struggling with this new gadget since Christmas.